Space Debris

The basis of the Space Debris workgroup is the knowledge and application of general and higher orbital mechanics. The main research consists of the orbital dynamics of all objects on Earth orbits (space debris), orbit survey and orbit prediction, especially for light satellites and the re-entry of hazardous objects. The Space Debris workgroup belongs to the leading experts in the field of Space Debris modelling. Research areas include:

Space Debris Modelling
  - Modelling of individual sources: explosion- and collision fragemts, solid  rocket motor dust and slag, NaK coolant droplets, ejecta, paint and MLI degradation, micrometeoroids
  - Simulation of fragmentation events: estimation and prediction of time-invariant and spatial distribution of objects on arbitrary orbits

Space Debris long term analyses
  - Projecting the evolution of the future space debris environment
  - Analyses of Space Debris mitigation techniques on the future environment
  - Analyses of cascade effects due to collisions

Space Debris risk analyses
  - Particle flux analyses on satellite surfaces
  - Analyses of penetration- and failure-probability

Space Debris cost-benefit-analysis
  - Safety precautions for active satellites
  - Economics of debris mitigation techniques

Space Debris observation
  - Design of optical sensors and radars (monostatic, bistatic, phased array)
  - Schedulung of measurement campaigns

Orbital atomic reactors
  - Risk analyses for the application in Earth bound orbits
  - Re-entry predictions

Rocket science in cooporation with student workgroup <a href=>ERIG</a>
  - Student projects
  - Groundstation
Orbital mechanics
  - Orbit predictions
  - Orbit trace
Space technology education:
  - Lectures, exercises, laboratories: Fundamentals of space technology, perturbated orbits, satellite techniques, space debris, manned spaceflight, mentoring and supervision of graduating students (MA/BA thesis)



Dr. Carsten Wiedemann

Jonas Radtke

Christopher Kebschull

Sven Müller

Marcel Becker

Andre Horstmann

Sebastian Hesselbach

Jürgen Lorenz

Volker Schaus

Eduard Gamper